packet: read num_members once in packet_rcv_fanout()
authorEric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Tue, 16 Jun 2015 14:59:11 +0000 (07:59 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Thu, 6 Aug 2015 23:32:17 +0000 (00:32 +0100)
[ Upstream commit f98f4514d07871da7a113dd9e3e330743fd70ae4 ]

We need to tell compiler it must not read f->num_members multiple
times. Otherwise testing if num is not zero is flaky, and we could
attempt an invalid divide by 0 in fanout_demux_cpu()

Note bug was present in packet_rcv_fanout_hash() and
packet_rcv_fanout_lb() but final 3.1 had a simple location
after commit 95ec3eb417115fb ("packet: Add 'cpu' fanout policy.")

Fixes: dc99f600698dc ("packet: Add fanout support.")
Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Cc: Willem de Bruijn <willemb@google.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
net/packet/af_packet.c

index 4f19bf2..ca39a0c 100644 (file)
@@ -1211,7 +1211,7 @@ static int packet_rcv_fanout(struct sk_buff *skb, struct net_device *dev,
                             struct packet_type *pt, struct net_device *orig_dev)
 {
        struct packet_fanout *f = pt->af_packet_priv;
-       unsigned int num = f->num_members;
+       unsigned int num = ACCESS_ONCE(f->num_members);
        struct packet_sock *po;
        struct sock *sk;