gcov: disable tree-loop-im to reduce stack usage
authorArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Mon, 25 Apr 2016 15:35:30 +0000 (17:35 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Mon, 22 Aug 2016 21:37:10 +0000 (22:37 +0100)
commit c87bf431448b404a6ef5fbabd74c0e3e42157a7f upstream.

Enabling CONFIG_GCOV_PROFILE_ALL produces us a lot of warnings like

lib/lz4/lz4hc_compress.c: In function 'lz4_compresshcctx':
lib/lz4/lz4hc_compress.c:514:1: warning: the frame size of 1504 bytes is larger than 1024 bytes [-Wframe-larger-than=]

After some investigation, I found that this behavior started with gcc-4.9,
and opened https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=69702.
A suggested workaround for it is to use the -fno-tree-loop-im
flag that turns off one of the optimization stages in gcc, so the
code runs a little slower but does not use excessive amounts
of stack.

We could make this conditional on the gcc version, but I could not
find an easy way to do this in Kbuild and the benefit would be
fairly small, given that most of the gcc version in production are
affected now.

I'm marking this for 'stable' backports because it addresses a bug
with code generation in gcc that exists in all kernel versions
with the affected gcc releases.

Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Acked-by: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.com>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: adjust context]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Makefile

index 98c276c..0e8d3a1 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -352,7 +352,7 @@ AFLAGS_MODULE   =
 LDFLAGS_MODULE  =
 CFLAGS_KERNEL  =
 AFLAGS_KERNEL  =
 LDFLAGS_MODULE  =
 CFLAGS_KERNEL  =
 AFLAGS_KERNEL  =
-CFLAGS_GCOV    = -fprofile-arcs -ftest-coverage
+CFLAGS_GCOV    = -fprofile-arcs -ftest-coverage -fno-tree-loop-im
 
 
 # Use LINUXINCLUDE when you must reference the include/ directory.
 
 
 # Use LINUXINCLUDE when you must reference the include/ directory.