firmware: log the firmware name that failed to load
authorGrazvydas Ignotas <notasas@gmail.com>
Wed, 17 Sep 2014 21:50:06 +0000 (00:50 +0300)
committerGrazvydas Ignotas <notasas@gmail.com>
Wed, 17 Sep 2014 21:56:20 +0000 (00:56 +0300)
Some drivers never print the file name, so the user has no way of
knowing what file he is missing.
Also reduce the timeout, 10s should be enough.

drivers/base/firmware_class.c

index 3719c94..cd3206e 100644 (file)
@@ -79,7 +79,7 @@ enum {
        FW_STATUS_ABORT,
 };
 
-static int loading_timeout = 60;       /* In seconds */
+static int loading_timeout = 10;       /* In seconds */
 
 /* fw_lock could be moved to 'struct firmware_priv' but since it is just
  * guarding for corner cases a global lock should be OK */
@@ -541,7 +541,7 @@ static int _request_firmware(const struct firmware **firmware_p,
        }
 
        if (uevent)
-               dev_dbg(device, "firmware: requesting %s\n", name);
+               dev_info(device, "firmware: requesting %s\n", name);
 
        fw_priv = fw_create_instance(firmware, name, device, uevent, nowait);
        if (IS_ERR(fw_priv)) {
@@ -573,6 +573,7 @@ static int _request_firmware(const struct firmware **firmware_p,
 
 out:
        if (retval) {
+               dev_warn(device, "firmware: failed to get '%s'\n", name);
                release_firmware(firmware);
                *firmware_p = NULL;
        }