pktcdvd: Fix pkt_setup_dev() error path
authorBart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>
Tue, 2 Jan 2018 19:39:47 +0000 (11:39 -0800)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Thu, 31 May 2018 23:30:05 +0000 (00:30 +0100)
commit 5a0ec388ef0f6e33841aeb810d7fa23f049ec4cd upstream.

Commit 523e1d399ce0 ("block: make gendisk hold a reference to its queue")
modified add_disk() and disk_release() but did not update any of the
error paths that trigger a put_disk() call after disk->queue has been
assigned. That introduced the following behavior in the pktcdvd driver
if pkt_new_dev() fails:

Kernel BUG at 00000000e98fd882 [verbose debug info unavailable]

Since disk_release() calls blk_put_queue() anyway if disk->queue != NULL,
fix this by removing the blk_cleanup_queue() call from the pkt_setup_dev()
error path.

Fixes: commit 523e1d399ce0 ("block: make gendisk hold a reference to its queue")
Signed-off-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Maciej S. Szmigiero <mail@maciej.szmigiero.name>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/block/pktcdvd.c

index a63b0a2..87ba51e 100644 (file)
@@ -2885,7 +2885,7 @@ static int pkt_setup_dev(dev_t dev, dev_t* pkt_dev)
        pd->pkt_dev = MKDEV(pktdev_major, idx);
        ret = pkt_new_dev(pd, dev);
        if (ret)
-               goto out_new_dev;
+               goto out_mem2;
 
        /* inherit events of the host device */
        disk->events = pd->bdev->bd_disk->events;
@@ -2903,8 +2903,6 @@ static int pkt_setup_dev(dev_t dev, dev_t* pkt_dev)
        mutex_unlock(&ctl_mutex);
        return 0;
 
-out_new_dev:
-       blk_cleanup_queue(disk->queue);
 out_mem2:
        put_disk(disk);
 out_mem: