KVM: VMX: fix use after free of vmx->loaded_vmcs
authorMarcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Fri, 3 Jan 2014 19:00:51 +0000 (17:00 -0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 9 Apr 2014 01:20:46 +0000 (02:20 +0100)
commit 26a865f4aa8e66a6d94958de7656f7f1b03c6c56 upstream.

After free_loaded_vmcs executes, the "loaded_vmcs" structure
is kfreed, and now vmx->loaded_vmcs points to a kfreed area.
Subsequent free_loaded_vmcs then attempts to manipulate
vmx->loaded_vmcs.

Switch the order to avoid the problem.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1047892

Reviewed-by: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
Signed-off-by: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
arch/x86/kvm/vmx.c

index aac5ea7..a4f6bda 100644 (file)
@@ -6273,8 +6273,8 @@ static void vmx_free_vcpu(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu)
        struct vcpu_vmx *vmx = to_vmx(vcpu);
 
        free_vpid(vmx);
-       free_nested(vmx);
        free_loaded_vmcs(vmx->loaded_vmcs);
+       free_nested(vmx);
        kfree(vmx->guest_msrs);
        kvm_vcpu_uninit(vcpu);
        kmem_cache_free(kvm_vcpu_cache, vmx);