vfs: make O_PATH file descriptors usable for 'fstat()'
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 14 Sep 2012 21:48:21 +0000 (14:48 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 19 Sep 2012 14:05:25 +0000 (15:05 +0100)
commit 55815f70147dcfa3ead5738fd56d3574e2e3c1c2 upstream.

We already use them for openat() and friends, but fstat() also wants to
be able to use O_PATH file descriptors.  This should make it more
directly comparable to the O_SEARCH of Solaris.

Note that you could already do the same thing with "fstatat()" and an
empty path, but just doing "fstat()" directly is simpler and faster, so
there is no reason not to just allow it directly.

See also commit 332a2e1244bd, which did the same thing for fchdir, for
the same reasons.

Reported-by: ольга крыжановская <olga.kryzhanovska@gmail.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
fs/stat.c

index 55ceb06..7b21801 100644 (file)
--- a/fs/stat.c
+++ b/fs/stat.c
@@ -58,7 +58,7 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(vfs_getattr);
 int vfs_fstat(unsigned int fd, struct kstat *stat)
 {
        int fput_needed;
 int vfs_fstat(unsigned int fd, struct kstat *stat)
 {
        int fput_needed;
-       struct file *f = fget_light(fd, &fput_needed);
+       struct file *f = fget_raw_light(fd, &fput_needed);
        int error = -EBADF;
 
        if (f) {
        int error = -EBADF;
 
        if (f) {