virtio-blk: Call revalidate_disk() upon online disk resize
authorVivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Thu, 29 Mar 2012 08:09:44 +0000 (10:09 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Sat, 29 Jun 2013 03:06:34 +0000 (04:06 +0100)
commit e9986f303dc0f285401de28cf96f42f4dd23a4a1 upstream.

If a virtio disk is open in guest and a disk resize operation is done,
(virsh blockresize), new size is not visible to tools like "fdisk -l".
This seems to be happening as we update only part->nr_sects and not
bdev->bd_inode size.

Call revalidate_disk() which should take care of it. I tested growing disk
size of already open disk and it works for me.

Signed-off-by: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/block/virtio_blk.c

index 166cb36..c5f7b2c 100644 (file)
@@ -343,6 +343,7 @@ static void virtblk_config_changed_work(struct work_struct *work)
                  cap_str_10, cap_str_2);
 
        set_capacity(vblk->disk, capacity);
                  cap_str_10, cap_str_2);
 
        set_capacity(vblk->disk, capacity);
+       revalidate_disk(vblk->disk);
 done:
        mutex_unlock(&vblk->config_lock);
 }
 done:
        mutex_unlock(&vblk->config_lock);
 }