Work around Dell E520 BIOS reboot bug
authorTim Gardner <tim.gardner@ubuntu.com>
Fri, 1 Jun 2007 07:46:40 +0000 (00:46 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 1 Jun 2007 15:18:28 +0000 (08:18 -0700)
Force Dell E520 to use the BIOS to shutdown/reboot.

I have at least one report that this patch fixes shutdown/reboot
problems on the Dell E520 platform.

(Andi says: People can always set the boot option.  It hardly seems like a
critical issue needing a backport.)

Signed-off-by: Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@ubuntu.com>
Acked-by: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Acked-by: Matt Domsch <Matt_Domsch@dell.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c

index 50dfc65..5513f8d 100644 (file)
@@ -89,6 +89,14 @@ static int __init set_bios_reboot(struct dmi_system_id *d)
 }
 
 static struct dmi_system_id __initdata reboot_dmi_table[] = {
 }
 
 static struct dmi_system_id __initdata reboot_dmi_table[] = {
+       {       /* Handle problems with rebooting on Dell E520's */
+               .callback = set_bios_reboot,
+               .ident = "Dell E520",
+               .matches = {
+                       DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Dell Inc."),
+                       DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "Dell DM061"),
+               },
+       },
        {       /* Handle problems with rebooting on Dell 1300's */
                .callback = set_bios_reboot,
                .ident = "Dell PowerEdge 1300",
        {       /* Handle problems with rebooting on Dell 1300's */
                .callback = set_bios_reboot,
                .ident = "Dell PowerEdge 1300",