net: phy: handle state correctly in phy_stop_machine
authorNathan Sullivan <nathan.sullivan@ni.com>
Wed, 22 Mar 2017 20:27:01 +0000 (15:27 -0500)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 17:38:37 +0000 (18:38 +0100)
commit 49d52e8108a21749dc2114b924c907db43358984 upstream.

If the PHY is halted on stop, then do not set the state to PHY_UP.  This
ensures the phy will be restarted later in phy_start when the machine is
started again.

Fixes: 00db8189d984 ("This patch adds a PHY Abstraction Layer to the Linux Kernel, enabling ethernet drivers to remain as ignorant as is reasonable of the connected PHY's design and operation details.")
Signed-off-by: Nathan Sullivan <nathan.sullivan@ni.com>
Signed-off-by: Brad Mouring <brad.mouring@ni.com>
Acked-by: Xander Huff <xander.huff@ni.com>
Acked-by: Kyle Roeschley <kyle.roeschley@ni.com>
Reviewed-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/net/phy/phy.c

index 3cbda08..f3eb427 100644 (file)
@@ -453,7 +453,7 @@ void phy_stop_machine(struct phy_device *phydev)
        cancel_delayed_work_sync(&phydev->state_queue);
 
        mutex_lock(&phydev->lock);
        cancel_delayed_work_sync(&phydev->state_queue);
 
        mutex_lock(&phydev->lock);
-       if (phydev->state > PHY_UP)
+       if (phydev->state > PHY_UP && phydev->state != PHY_HALTED)
                phydev->state = PHY_UP;
        mutex_unlock(&phydev->lock);
 
                phydev->state = PHY_UP;
        mutex_unlock(&phydev->lock);