Perf: fix build breakage
authorZeev Tarantov <zeev.tarantov@gmail.com>
Mon, 23 Apr 2012 06:37:04 +0000 (09:37 +0300)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Fri, 11 May 2012 12:13:48 +0000 (13:13 +0100)
[Patch not needed upstream as this is a backport build bugfix - gregkh

gcc correctly complains:

util/hist.c: In function ‘__hists__add_entry’:
util/hist.c:240:27: error: invalid type argument of ‘->’ (have ‘struct hist_entry’)
util/hist.c:241:23: error: invalid type argument of ‘->’ (have ‘struct hist_entry’)

for this new code:

+                       if (he->ms.map != entry->ms.map) {
+                               he->ms.map = entry->ms.map;
+                               if (he->ms.map)
+                                       he->ms.map->referenced = true;
+                       }

because "entry" is a "struct hist_entry", not a pointer to a struct.

In mainline, "entry" is a pointer to struct passed as argument to the function.
So this is broken during backporting. But obviously not compile tested.

Signed-off-by: Zeev Tarantov <zeev.tarantov@gmail.com>
Cc: Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
tools/perf/util/hist.c

index adb372d..e0a0970 100644 (file)
@@ -237,8 +237,8 @@ struct hist_entry *__hists__add_entry(struct hists *hists,
                         * mis-adjust symbol addresses when computing
                         * the history counter to increment.
                         */
-                       if (he->ms.map != entry->ms.map) {
-                               he->ms.map = entry->ms.map;
+                       if (he->ms.map != entry.ms.map) {
+                               he->ms.map = entry.ms.map;
                                if (he->ms.map)
                                        he->ms.map->referenced = true;
                        }