x86, relocs: Workaround for binutils 2.22.52.0.1 section bug
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Fri, 18 May 2012 07:24:09 +0000 (00:24 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 30 May 2012 23:44:08 +0000 (00:44 +0100)
commit a3e854d95a76862cd37937e0b0438f540536771a upstream.

GNU ld 2.22.52.0.1 has a bug that it blindly changes symbols from
section-relative to absolute if they are in a section of zero length.
This turns the symbols __init_begin and __init_end into absolute
symbols.  Let the relocs program know that those should be treated as
relative symbols.

Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: H.J. Lu <hjl.tools@gmail.com>
Cc: Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
arch/x86/tools/relocs.c

index 2071bad..c218b07 100644 (file)
@@ -55,7 +55,11 @@ static const char * const sym_regex_kernel[S_NSYMTYPES] = {
  * as absolute (typically defined outside any section in the linker script.)
  */
        [S_REL] =
  * as absolute (typically defined outside any section in the linker script.)
  */
        [S_REL] =
-       "^_end$",
+       "^(__init_(begin|end)|"
+       "__x86_cpu_dev_(start|end)|"
+       "(__parainstructions|__alt_instructions)(|_end)|"
+       "(__iommu_table|__apicdrivers|__smp_locks)(|_end)|"
+       "_end)$"
 };
 
 
 };