panic, vt: do not force oops output when panic_timeout < 0
authorMandeep Singh Baines <msb@chromium.org>
Tue, 26 Jul 2011 23:08:54 +0000 (16:08 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 26 Jul 2011 23:49:45 +0000 (16:49 -0700)
Don't force output if you intend to reboot immediately.

In this patch, I'm disabling the functionality enabled by
vc->vc_panic_force_write if panic_timeout < 0 (i.e.  no timeout).
vc_panic_force_write is only enabled for fb video consoles if the
FBINFO_CAN_FORCE_OUTPUT flag is set.

For our application, we're using ram_oops to preserved the panic in
memory.  We want to reliably, and as fast as possible, machine_restart.
The vc_panic_force_write flag results in a bunch of graphics driver code
to be invoked which slows down restart and decreases reliability.  Since
we're already storing the panic in RAM and are going to reboot
immediately, there is no benefit in mode switching back to the vc in
order to display the panic output.  The log buffer will get flushed by
the console_unblank() call so remote management consoles should see all
output.

Signed-off-by: Mandeep Singh Baines <msb@chromium.org>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Olaf Hering <olaf@aepfle.de>
Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Acked-by: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/vt_kern.h

index 4d05e14..c2164fa 100644 (file)
@@ -137,7 +137,7 @@ int vty_init(const struct file_operations *console_fops);
 
 static inline bool vt_force_oops_output(struct vc_data *vc)
 {
 
 static inline bool vt_force_oops_output(struct vc_data *vc)
 {
-       if (oops_in_progress && vc->vc_panic_force_write)
+       if (oops_in_progress && vc->vc_panic_force_write  && panic_timeout >= 0)
                return true;
        return false;
 }
                return true;
        return false;
 }