USB: serial: ftdi_sio: fix modem-status error handling
authorJohan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
Thu, 12 Jan 2017 13:56:11 +0000 (14:56 +0100)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Mon, 5 Jun 2017 20:13:42 +0000 (21:13 +0100)
commit 427c3a95e3e29e65f59d99aaf320d7506f3eed57 upstream.

Make sure to detect short responses when fetching the modem status in
order to avoid parsing uninitialised buffer data and having bits of it
leak to user space.

Note that we still allow for short 1-byte responses.

Fixes: 1da177e4c3f4 ("Linux-2.6.12-rc2")
Reviewed-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: adjust context]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/usb/serial/ftdi_sio.c

index dbc437c..43e1c39 100644 (file)
@@ -2542,8 +2542,13 @@ static int ftdi_tiocmget(struct tty_struct *tty)
                        FTDI_SIO_GET_MODEM_STATUS_REQUEST_TYPE,
                        0, priv->interface,
                        buf, len, WDR_TIMEOUT);
                        FTDI_SIO_GET_MODEM_STATUS_REQUEST_TYPE,
                        0, priv->interface,
                        buf, len, WDR_TIMEOUT);
-       if (ret < 0)
+
+       /* NOTE: We allow short responses and handle that below. */
+       if (ret < 1) {
+               if (ret >= 0)
+                       ret = -EIO;
                goto out;
                goto out;
+       }
 
        ret = (buf[0] & FTDI_SIO_DSR_MASK ? TIOCM_DSR : 0) |
                (buf[0] & FTDI_SIO_CTS_MASK ? TIOCM_CTS : 0) |
 
        ret = (buf[0] & FTDI_SIO_DSR_MASK ? TIOCM_DSR : 0) |
                (buf[0] & FTDI_SIO_CTS_MASK ? TIOCM_CTS : 0) |