x86/quirks: Apply nvidia_bugs quirk only on root bus
authorLukas Wunner <lukas@wunner.de>
Sun, 12 Jun 2016 10:31:53 +0000 (12:31 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Sun, 20 Nov 2016 01:01:24 +0000 (01:01 +0000)
commit 447d29d1d3aed839e74c2401ef63387780ac51ed upstream.

Since the following commit:

  8659c406ade3 ("x86: only scan the root bus in early PCI quirks")

... early quirks are only applied to devices on the root bus.

The motivation was to prevent application of the nvidia_bugs quirk on
secondary buses.

We're about to reintroduce scanning of secondary buses for a quirk to
reset the Broadcom 4331 wireless card on 2011/2012 Macs. To prevent
regressions, open code the requirement to apply nvidia_bugs only on the
root bus.

Signed-off-by: Lukas Wunner <lukas@wunner.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/4d5477c1d76b2f0387a780f2142bbcdd9fee869b.1465690253.git.lukas@wunner.de
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
arch/x86/kernel/early-quirks.c

index 3755ef4..14909af 100644 (file)
@@ -72,6 +72,13 @@ static void __init nvidia_bugs(int num, int slot, int func)
 {
 #ifdef CONFIG_ACPI
 #ifdef CONFIG_X86_IO_APIC
+       /*
+        * Only applies to Nvidia root ports (bus 0) and not to
+        * Nvidia graphics cards with PCI ports on secondary buses.
+        */
+       if (num)
+               return;
+
        /*
         * All timer overrides on Nvidia are
         * wrong unless HPET is enabled.