KEYS: Reinstate EPERM for a key type name beginning with a '.'
authorDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:29:03 +0000 (17:29 +0100)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Mon, 5 Jun 2017 20:13:52 +0000 (21:13 +0100)
commit 54e2c2c1a9d6cbb270b0999a38545fa9a69bee43 upstream.

Reinstate the generation of EPERM for a key type name beginning with a '.' in
a userspace call.  Types whose name begins with a '.' are internal only.

The test was removed by:

commit a4e3b8d79a5c6d40f4a9703abf7fe3abcc6c3b8d
Author: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Date:   Thu May 22 14:02:23 2014 -0400
Subject: KEYS: special dot prefixed keyring name bug fix

I think we want to keep the restriction on type name so that userspace can't
add keys of a special internal type.

Note that removal of the test causes several of the tests in the keyutils
testsuite to fail.

Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
cc: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
security/keys/keyctl.c

index 930988a..3947cff 100644 (file)
@@ -35,6 +35,8 @@ static int key_get_type_from_user(char *type,
                return ret;
        if (ret == 0 || ret >= len)
                return -EINVAL;
+       if (type[0] == '.')
+               return -EPERM;
        type[len - 1] = '\0';
        return 0;
 }