x86/mm: Add the 'nopcid' boot option to turn off PCID
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Thu, 29 Jun 2017 15:53:20 +0000 (08:53 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Sun, 7 Jan 2018 01:46:48 +0000 (01:46 +0000)
commit 0790c9aad84901ca1bdc14746175549c8b5da215 upstream.

The parameter is only present on x86_64 systems to save a few bytes,
as PCID is always disabled on x86_32.

Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/8bbb2e65bcd249a5f18bfb8128b4689f08ac2b60.1498751203.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
[Hugh Dickins: Backported to 3.2:
 - Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt (not in this tree)
 - Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt (patched instead of that)]
Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c

index b71a8ea..4f43fd3 100644 (file)
@@ -1829,6 +1829,8 @@ bytes respectively. Such letter suffixes can also be entirely omitted.
        nopat           [X86] Disable PAT (page attribute table extension of
                        pagetables) support.
 
        nopat           [X86] Disable PAT (page attribute table extension of
                        pagetables) support.
 
+       nopcid          [X86-64] Disable the PCID cpu feature.
+
        norandmaps      Don't use address space randomization.  Equivalent to
                        echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/randomize_va_space
 
        norandmaps      Don't use address space randomization.  Equivalent to
                        echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/randomize_va_space
 
index e7dd20a..d0619ad 100644 (file)
@@ -155,6 +155,24 @@ static int __init x86_xsaveopt_setup(char *s)
 }
 __setup("noxsaveopt", x86_xsaveopt_setup);
 
 }
 __setup("noxsaveopt", x86_xsaveopt_setup);
 
+#ifdef CONFIG_X86_64
+static int __init x86_pcid_setup(char *s)
+{
+       /* require an exact match without trailing characters */
+       if (strlen(s))
+               return 0;
+
+       /* do not emit a message if the feature is not present */
+       if (!boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PCID))
+               return 1;
+
+       setup_clear_cpu_cap(X86_FEATURE_PCID);
+       pr_info("nopcid: PCID feature disabled\n");
+       return 1;
+}
+__setup("nopcid", x86_pcid_setup);
+#endif
+
 static int __init x86_noinvpcid_setup(char *s)
 {
        /* noinvpcid doesn't accept parameters */
 static int __init x86_noinvpcid_setup(char *s)
 {
        /* noinvpcid doesn't accept parameters */