virtio_balloon: init 1st buffer in stats vq
authorLadi Prosek <lprosek@redhat.com>
Thu, 23 Mar 2017 07:04:18 +0000 (08:04 +0100)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 17:38:37 +0000 (18:38 +0100)
commit fc8653228c8588a120f6b5dad6983b7b61ff669e upstream.

When init_vqs runs, virtio_balloon.stats is either uninitialized or
contains stale values. The host updates its state with garbage data
because it has no way of knowing that this is just a marker buffer
used for signaling.

This patch updates the stats before pushing the initial buffer.

Alternative fixes:
* Push an empty buffer in init_vqs. Not easily done with the current
  virtio implementation and violates the spec "Driver MUST supply the
  same subset of statistics in all buffers submitted to the statsq".
* Push a buffer with invalid tags in init_vqs. Violates the same
  spec clause, plus "invalid tag" is not really defined.

Note: the spec says:
When using the legacy interface, the device SHOULD ignore all values in
the first buffer in the statsq supplied by the driver after device
initialization. Note: Historically, drivers supplied an uninitialized
buffer in the first buffer.

Unfortunately QEMU does not seem to implement the recommendation
even for the legacy interface.

Signed-off-by: Ladi Prosek <lprosek@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/virtio/virtio_balloon.c

index 2975c50..1601e3e 100644 (file)
@@ -320,6 +320,8 @@ static int virtballoon_probe(struct virtio_device *vdev)
                 * Prime this virtqueue with one buffer so the hypervisor can
                 * use it to signal us later.
                 */
+               update_balloon_stats(vb);
+
                sg_init_one(&sg, vb->stats, sizeof vb->stats);
                if (virtqueue_add_buf(vb->stats_vq, &sg, 1, 0, vb) < 0)
                        BUG();