drm/radeon: insist on 32-bit DMA for Cedar on PPC64/PPC64LE
authorBen Crocker <bcrocker@redhat.com>
Thu, 22 Feb 2018 22:52:19 +0000 (17:52 -0500)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Thu, 31 May 2018 23:30:18 +0000 (00:30 +0100)
commit 2c83029cda55a5e7665c7c6326909427d6a01350 upstream.

In radeon_device_init, set the need_dma32 flag for Cedar chips
(e.g. FirePro 2270).  This fixes, or at least works around, a bug
on PowerPC exposed by last year's commits

8e3f1b1d8255105f31556aacf8aeb6071b00d469 (Russell Currey)

and

253fd51e2f533552ae35a0c661705da6c4842c1b (Alistair Popple)

which enabled the 64-bit DMA iommu bypass.

This caused the device to freeze, in some cases unrecoverably, and is
the subject of several bug reports internal to Red Hat.

Signed-off-by: Ben Crocker <bcrocker@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_device.c

index f122e61..2cc26a1 100644 (file)
@@ -784,6 +784,10 @@ int radeon_device_init(struct radeon_device *rdev,
        if ((rdev->flags & RADEON_IS_PCI) &&
            (rdev->family <= CHIP_RS740))
                rdev->need_dma32 = true;
+#ifdef CONFIG_PPC64
+       if (rdev->family == CHIP_CEDAR)
+               rdev->need_dma32 = true;
+#endif
 
        dma_bits = rdev->need_dma32 ? 32 : 40;
        r = pci_set_dma_mask(rdev->pdev, DMA_BIT_MASK(dma_bits));