mm/THP: use pmd_populate() to update the pmd with pgtable_t pointer
authorAneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Fri, 24 May 2013 22:55:21 +0000 (15:55 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Thu, 30 May 2013 13:35:06 +0000 (14:35 +0100)
commitf45f28f4921a03d20d04f273dad68d30736304c6
tree00e03991febd0df110ed55d53719fa2c9b1b1dd9
parent7fa32acca588177bbc49dc2b4c6fa469c4aa5bd5
mm/THP: use pmd_populate() to update the pmd with pgtable_t pointer

commit 7c3425123ddfdc5f48e7913ff59d908789712b18 upstream.

We should not use set_pmd_at to update pmd_t with pgtable_t pointer.
set_pmd_at is used to set pmd with huge pte entries and architectures
like ppc64, clear few flags from the pte when saving a new entry.
Without this change we observe bad pte errors like below on ppc64 with
THP enabled.

  BUG: Bad page map in process ld mm=0xc000001ee39f4780 pte:7fc3f37848000001 pmd:c000001ec0000000

Signed-off-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Reviewed-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
mm/huge_memory.c