scripts/Kbuild.include: Fix portability problem of "echo -e"
authorBernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Sun, 26 Feb 2012 17:35:18 +0000 (18:35 +0100)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 17 Oct 2012 02:49:26 +0000 (03:49 +0100)
commitd3ccc5b382bf183ad55096743e4fa42d432b9885
treed0f3d5cce64335833cc8c58233644d7a1253588e
parent5b84d8279eb9fa68c1e8eb3e79cf1e42607dfd1e
scripts/Kbuild.include: Fix portability problem of "echo -e"

commit 875de98623fa2b29f0cb19915fe3292ab6daa1cb upstream.

"echo -e" is a GNU extension. When cross-compiling the kernel on a
BSD-like operating system (Mac OS X in my case), this doesn't work.

One could install a GNU version of echo, put that in the $PATH before
the system echo and use "/usr/bin/env echo", but the solution with
printf is simpler.

Since it is no disadvantage on Linux, I hope that gets accepted even if
cross-compiling the Linux kernel on another Unix operating system is
quite a rare use case.

Signed-off-by: Bernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Andreas BieƟmann <andreas@biessmann.de>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
scripts/Kbuild.include