block: do not pass disk names as format strings
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Wed, 3 Jul 2013 22:01:14 +0000 (15:01 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Sat, 27 Jul 2013 04:34:28 +0000 (05:34 +0100)
commitb442223040adf969fd02124c29c856a06cf5649c
treed11c367a98796d87a291b3eb36665ba8a0c11c89
parent93f26306db89c9dc37885b76a1082e6d54d23b16
block: do not pass disk names as format strings

commit ffc8b30866879ed9ba62bd0a86fecdbd51cd3d19 upstream.

Disk names may contain arbitrary strings, so they must not be
interpreted as format strings.  It seems that only md allows arbitrary
strings to be used for disk names, but this could allow for a local
memory corruption from uid 0 into ring 0.

CVE-2013-2851

Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: adjust device pointer name in nbd.c]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
block/genhd.c
drivers/block/nbd.c
drivers/scsi/osd/osd_uld.c