perf: Fix perf_lock_task_context() vs RCU
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 09:08:33 +0000 (11:08 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Sat, 27 Jul 2013 04:34:31 +0000 (05:34 +0100)
commita7aa204def549434aa80457926bc49300b18b181
tree4a6c85140b25b2a930740e73c83fcb442a0af72e
parentb76c8d1124b81dbe4ee9ca1254759cf0f9028052
perf: Fix perf_lock_task_context() vs RCU

commit 058ebd0eba3aff16b144eabf4510ed9510e1416e upstream.

Jiri managed to trigger this warning:

 [] ======================================================
 [] [ INFO: possible circular locking dependency detected ]
 [] 3.10.0+ #228 Tainted: G        W
 [] -------------------------------------------------------
 [] p/6613 is trying to acquire lock:
 []  (rcu_node_0){..-...}, at: [<ffffffff810ca797>] rcu_read_unlock_special+0xa7/0x250
 []
 [] but task is already holding lock:
 []  (&ctx->lock){-.-...}, at: [<ffffffff810f2879>] perf_lock_task_context+0xd9/0x2c0
 []
 [] which lock already depends on the new lock.
 []
 [] the existing dependency chain (in reverse order) is:
 []
 [] -> #4 (&ctx->lock){-.-...}:
 [] -> #3 (&rq->lock){-.-.-.}:
 [] -> #2 (&p->pi_lock){-.-.-.}:
 [] -> #1 (&rnp->nocb_gp_wq[1]){......}:
 [] -> #0 (rcu_node_0){..-...}:

Paul was quick to explain that due to preemptible RCU we cannot call
rcu_read_unlock() while holding scheduler (or nested) locks when part
of the read side critical section was preemptible.

Therefore solve it by making the entire RCU read side non-preemptible.

Also pull out the retry from under the non-preempt to play nice with RT.

Reported-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Helped-out-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
kernel/events/core.c