mm: make fixup_user_fault() check the vma access rights too
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:49:40 +0000 (13:49 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Sun, 18 May 2014 13:58:06 +0000 (14:58 +0100)
commit649c4c004e5f04f5424ac3021d8312c3abc75010
treedfdcebbd2ac256d218f86a676226d2893ae6960d
parent53a58d9f5dbd90df5a2c7d8ad78fd812af126d34
mm: make fixup_user_fault() check the vma access rights too

commit 1b17844b29ae042576bea588164f2f1e9590a8bc upstream.

fixup_user_fault() is used by the futex code when the direct user access
fails, and the futex code wants it to either map in the page in a usable
form or return an error.  It relied on handle_mm_fault() to map the
page, and correctly checked the error return from that, but while that
does map the page, it doesn't actually guarantee that the page will be
mapped with sufficient permissions to be then accessed.

So do the appropriate tests of the vma access rights by hand.

[ Side note: arguably handle_mm_fault() could just do that itself, but
  we have traditionally done it in the caller, because some callers -
  notably get_user_pages() - have been able to access pages even when
  they are mapped with PROT_NONE.  Maybe we should re-visit that design
  decision, but in the meantime this is the minimal patch. ]

Found by Dave Jones running his trinity tool.

Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
mm/memory.c