kbuild: Fix gcc -x syntax
authorJean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
Tue, 2 Oct 2012 14:42:36 +0000 (16:42 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 17 Oct 2012 02:49:27 +0000 (03:49 +0100)
commit6454738d4395c8a79843f5c2e3eeb687f9b7e7a9
tree3861c4a8f9f0b67d013ae89e864fd7138ffbd739
parentd3ccc5b382bf183ad55096743e4fa42d432b9885
kbuild: Fix gcc -x syntax

commit b1e0d8b70fa31821ebca3965f2ef8619d7c5e316 upstream.

The correct syntax for gcc -x is "gcc -x assembler", not
"gcc -xassembler". Even though the latter happens to work, the former
is what is documented in the manual page and thus what gcc wrappers
such as icecream do expect.

This isn't a cosmetic change. The missing space prevents icecream from
recognizing compilation tasks it can't handle, leading to silent kernel
miscompilations.

Besides me, credits go to Michael Matz and Dirk Mueller for
investigating the miscompilation issue and tracking it down to this
incorrect -x parameter syntax.

Signed-off-by: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Bernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: drop unneeded change to arch/x86/Makefile]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
arch/mips/Makefile
arch/mips/kernel/Makefile
scripts/Kbuild.include
scripts/gcc-version.sh
scripts/gcc-x86_32-has-stack-protector.sh
scripts/gcc-x86_64-has-stack-protector.sh
scripts/kconfig/check.sh
scripts/kconfig/lxdialog/check-lxdialog.sh
tools/perf/Makefile
tools/power/cpupower/Makefile