gpio: sysfs: fix memory leaks and device hotplug
authorJohan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
Tue, 21 Apr 2015 15:42:09 +0000 (17:42 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Thu, 6 Aug 2015 23:32:09 +0000 (00:32 +0100)
commit5e3a0d7c5c5f3bac1c35595d6b16f2f638e42b53
tree17f43a43d0bf49cc6c498247f5117f15bf26dcc9
parentc833e96de15cb46c8587271a32c651c0acc40dd3
gpio: sysfs: fix memory leaks and device hotplug

commit 483d821108791092798f5d230686868112927044 upstream.

Unregister GPIOs requested through sysfs at chip remove to avoid leaking
the associated memory and sysfs entries.

The stale sysfs entries prevented the gpio numbers from being exported
when the gpio range was later reused (e.g. at device reconnect).

This also fixes the related module-reference leak.

Note that kernfs makes sure that any on-going sysfs operations finish
before the class devices are unregistered and that further accesses
fail.

The chip exported flag is used to prevent gpiod exports during removal.
This also makes it harder to trigger, but does not fix, the related race
between gpiochip_remove and export_store, which is really a race with
gpiod_request that needs to be addressed separately.

Also note that this would prevent the crashes (e.g. NULL-dereferences)
at reconnect that affects pre-3.18 kernels, as well as use-after-free on
operations on open attribute files on pre-3.14 kernels (prior to
kernfs).

Fixes: d8f388d8dc8d ("gpio: sysfs interface")
Signed-off-by: Johan Hovold <johan@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2:
 - Adjust filename, context
 - Move up initialisation of 'desc' in gpio_export()
 - Use global 'gpio_desc' array and gpio_free() function in
   gpiochip_unexport()]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/gpio/gpiolib.c