init: don't try mounting device as nfs root unless type fully matches
authorSasha Levin <levinsasha928@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 May 2012 15:06:35 +0000 (17:06 +0200)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 30 May 2012 23:43:50 +0000 (00:43 +0100)
commit2693a093ac93a63749fd595cf4569495014ff1b3
tree5a28a58bb1da639ebdb8ef438f69399e8c6facb8
parent3d58692ddaa3788a12a16c06e272f5216f8cb00c
init: don't try mounting device as nfs root unless type fully matches

commit 377485f6244af255b04d662cf19cddbbc4ae4310 upstream.

Currently, we'll try mounting any device who's major device number is
UNNAMED_MAJOR as NFS root.  This would happen for non-NFS devices as
well (such as 9p devices) but it wouldn't cause any issues since
mounting the device as NFS would fail quickly and the code proceeded to
doing the proper mount:

       [  101.522716] VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy.
       [  101.534499] VFS: Mounted root (9p filesystem) on device 0:18.

Commit 6829a048102a ("NFS: Retry mounting NFSROOT") introduced retries
when mounting NFS root, which means that now we don't immediately fail
and instead it takes an additional 90+ seconds until we stop retrying,
which has revealed the issue this patch fixes.

This meant that it would take an additional 90 seconds to boot when
we're not using a device type which gets detected in order before NFS.

This patch modifies the NFS type check to require device type to be
'Root_NFS' instead of requiring the device to have an UNNAMED_MAJOR
major.  This makes boot process cleaner since we now won't go through
the NFS mounting code at all when the device isn't an NFS root
("/dev/nfs").

Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <levinsasha928@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
init/do_mounts.c