tg3: Wait for boot code to finish after power on
authorNithin Sujir <nsujir@broadcom.com>
Wed, 12 Jun 2013 18:08:59 +0000 (11:08 -0700)
committerBen Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Wed, 19 Jun 2013 01:17:02 +0000 (02:17 +0100)
commit08647d0f99db39f73f37e00ebafc24ff3d3f4948
tree81f7d100df4519c267b140d01445900382206e3b
parent58e06b1d5e77f6cbed3cddc39e7d782d462e1883
tg3: Wait for boot code to finish after power on

commit df465abfe06f7dc4f33f4a96d17f096e9e8ac917 upstream.

Some systems that don't need wake-on-lan may choose to power down the
chip on system standby. Upon resume, the power on causes the boot code
to startup and initialize the hardware. On one new platform, this is
causing the device to go into a bad state due to a race between the
driver and boot code, once every several hundred resumes. The same race
exists on open since we come up from a power on.

This patch adds a wait for boot code signature at the beginning of
tg3_init_hw() which is common to both cases. If there has not been a
power-off or the boot code has already completed, the signature will be
present and poll_fw() returns immediately. Also return immediately if
the device does not have firmware.

Signed-off-by: Nithin Nayak Sujir <nsujir@broadcom.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael Chan <mchan@broadcom.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: adjust context]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
drivers/net/ethernet/broadcom/tg3.c